top of page

Isadora Moon Series by Harriet Muncaster

Updated: Jan 7, 2022


Isadora Moon is half vampire, half fairy, and totally unique. She loves magic, nighttime, flowers, and flying in a dark, black sky. With her special pink rabbit, who is actually a stuffed animal with a spell on him to make him alive, Isadora goes on all sorts of exciting adventures.


AGE RANGE KIDS


THEMES

Fairies

Fantasy

Bats

Vampires


OVERALL RATING 7.4/10

This is sort of the opposite of my usual reviews for kids' books. Usually, my problem is that the idea was good but there wasn't enough emotion, but not this time. There was a perfect amount of emotion in this book, and I though that it was actually very well done in that way. My problem with it, though, was the extremely annoying fairy stereotypes. There are only three shades/colors in the illustrations; pink, black, and white. Everything to do with fairies is pink, and the fairy school is even shaped like a cupcake with hearts and stars for windows. This annoyed me so much!! I guess some people might not mind it, but the fairy stereotypes made it really hard for me to enjoy the book.


PROS

Good emotions

Good plot

Relatable for kids, even though it is fantasy


CONS

The fairy stereotypes are just SO annoying



NOTES

I have only read the first book, since it is a series.

0 comments
bottom of page